She Bakes {Ricotta Cookies}

When I went home for Easter {yea, I know – a little late} my mom and I had both stumbled upon this recipe for Ricotta Cookies. We were intrigued. I’ve heard of putting mayonnaise, sour cream, or applesauce in different baked goods – but never ricotta cheese. So we tried it.

I should preempt this by saying I am not a baker. I actually loathe the act of it. I love to cook, but baking… all that measuring and being neat and precise, no. thank. you. {However, I do enjoy eating sweets.} But this recipe was easy… and delicious.

Ingredients:

Cookie…
1 lb butter
2 cups of sugar
3 eggs
1 lb ricotta cheese {part skim worked GREAT}
2 tsp vanilla {not going to lie, I eyeballed it – see, horrible baker}
4 cups cake flour {I questioned this – but it really did make a HUGE difference in the cookie texture}
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
Preheat the oven to 350. Cream together the butter and sugar. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Lastly, mix the ricotta cheese and the vanilla into the mixture. It will have a slightly grainy texture due to the cheese.
In a seperate bowl stir together the cake flour, salt, and baking soda.
Very slowly add the dry mixture to the cheese mixture… blending well. {The grainy texture should be gone by this point.}
Spoon the cookie dough onto parchment paper lined baking sheets. {BTW, I’ve never baked with parchment paper before – what a difference it makes!} We used a mini ice cream scoop and overfilled it – made the perfect sized cookie.
The dough is seriously delicious. Once it’s mixed it comes out almost snow white – so I thought it would be fun to mix some color into the dough itself. {Food coloring ain’t just for frosting, peeps!}
Bake for 8-10 minutes depending on your oven. Cool on a cooling rack and once they are completely cooled – slab some frosting on them.

 Frosting…
5 tbsps of butter
5 cups of powdered sugar
5 tbsps of milk
{again, the frosting was a lot more eyeballing than it was measuring… I knew the consistency I needed.}
I chose bright, Easter colors to mix in – but any colors work.
Once they’re frosted… ENJOY!
Don’t the ricotta cheese scare you off… these are probably some of the lightest, most delicious cookies I’ve ever made. Everyone who tried them that day raved about how yummy they were… I dare you to try them. 😉
Happy Thursday, lovelies.
3 thoughts on “She Bakes {Ricotta Cookies}

  1. Pingback: Makeover Italian Ricotta Cookies « jovinacooksitalian

Your sweet words mean so much...

